JuliaMellor

Running Man

In Entertain Me on February 21, 2011 at 2:58 pm

I’ve been watching a lot of Korean TV of late, playing the visa-number-waiting-game.  It’s no secret that my language ability is less than fluent, but I find that doesn’t necessarily make much of a difference.  I particularly enjoy the abundance of variety shows, which are entertaining in the visual art of slapstick.  I often get drawn in by the members and their commitment to their challenges, and before I know it I’ve watched an entire show without being 100 percent sure of what the rules were.  I laugh when they laugh, because it seems like they are having more fun making the show than I am watching it.  My favourite show at the minute, which never fails to have me stitches, laughing shamelessly out loud alone in my studio, is “Running Man”.  I guarantee you, not understanding Korean is not an issue for this hilarious entertainment….though I have discovered a very thoughtful individual who has links to the subtitled shows.  It’s a demanding schedule for the participants of this show, as they begin filming at midnight and are presented with a number of physically taxing challenges throughout the wee hours of the morning.  All for our benefit.  The ridiculousness of the missions only gets better with each episode, and I am guaranteed a giggle from this gem of a show.  Perhaps it’s not for everyone, it’s certainly not an intellectually stimulating hour of your life, but when you already think too much, Running Man is just the right tonic.

Leave a Reply

